News

COMING SOON: LACTAWEBINAR ON 10 MARCH 2022

220222_LactaWebinar_EFBRI.jpg

We are delighted to invite you to a free LactaWebinar for a tour and conversation about EFBRI – An Evolving Ethical Framework Informing Breastfeeding Research and Interventions.

Thursday, 10 March 2022

8-9:30 am Mexico City
2-3:30 pm London
3-4:30 pm Zurich
5-6:30 pm Nairobi
7-8:30 pm Lahore
10-11:30 pm Singapore



Register here for the free LactaWebinar on Zoom, or join the livestream on The Global Health Network Facebook page. 

 

What can you expect on 10 March 2022?

Update from The Global Health Network and LactaHub, Arancha de la Horra Gozalo

Introduction to LactaHub's LactaEthics vision, Dr. Katharina Lichtner

Tour of EFBRI on LactaHub, Prof. Dr. med. Dr. phil. Nikola Biller-Andorno

Expert conversation on the practical application of ethical frameworks, Dr. Farah Asif and Dr. Stephen Ombok Muhudhia, moderated by Dr. Supriya Subramani

Q&A with speakers and experts, moderated by Arancha de la Horra Gozalo

For more information on the webinar visit LactaWebinar

 

What is EFBRI?
EFBRI is an evolving framework compiling and adapting current and established international ethical standards and guidelines for biomedical research involving human beings within the scope of breastfeeding and lactation. The compilation was created by the Institute of Biomedical Ethics and History of Medicine (University of Zurich). EFBRI is easy to use and globally applicable. It can help streamline research processes for people working with breastfeeding mothers and children. With EFBRI, researchers and other stakeholders can align their work to universal research ethics standards – confidently and efficiently. Module 1 focuses on research; Module 2 will focus on interventions. Future modules will take shape as needed.

Why is EFBRI ‘evolving’?
Ethical considerations play leading roles in breastfeeding research and interventions. As ethics evolve globally and EFBRI is applied to new and different situations, the framework will require reviews and updates to evolve in parallel. In the tradition of community science, explicit user feedback and suggestions (email to ethics@lactahub.org) from real-life cases will help EFBRI’s creators build a comprehensive, evergreen resource.

How can I contribute?
Please join the conversation and share your explicit feedback and suggestions. Your practical perspectives will contribute to a continuously refined understanding of the multifaceted, complex ethical issues of breastfeeding and lactation research – and how they can best be solved.

EFBRI was created by the Institute of Biomedical Ethics and History of Medicine (University of Zurich).

Creators: Mirriam Tyebally Fang, M.B.B.S (NUS), M.R.C.S (Edin.), and Nikola Biller-Andorno, MD, PhD, MHBA

EFBRI is published exclusively on LactaHub – A Resource for Evidence-based Breastfeeding Intelligence

Access EFBRI in PDF.

 

Illustration: Nadja Stadelmann